Open Brass Band Contest: Sun 19th Nov 2017

Event: LBBA ‘Open’ Brass Band Contest
When: Sunday 19th November 2017
Where: Loughborough Endowed Schools

This event has now taken place

The 2018 contest will take place on Sunday 18th November 2018. 

The full results of the 2017 competition are available HERE


LBBA Champions – Members of Wantage Brass Band with Adjudicator Brett Baker

The address of the venue is:

Loughborough Endowed Schools, Leicester Road, Loughborough, Leicestershire

A postcode for your SatNav is LE11 2AQ  – (Please note that this postcode will take you to the correct car park and coach park – other postcodes or directions may take you to the opposite side of the schools campus).

The 2017 Contest:

Adjudicators for the 2017 contest will be as follows:

Championship: Brett Baker, First: Chris Wormald, Second: David Hirst, Third: David Hirst, Fourth: Steve Hartley, Unregistered: Steve Hartley. Shadow adjudicator in the second section will be Philip Judge.

2017 List of entered Bands

2017 Sections, Allocated Halls & Approx Timings

The Venue:

Performance Halls – These will be the Hodson Hall and the Eadon Hall

The contest now runs from our fantastic new venue of Loughborough Endowed Schools, in Leicestershire. The LBBA are delighted to be able to offer this venue to our supporting bands, which allows us to run two halls simultaneously and be able to make the contesting experience as comfortable as possible for bands and supporters.

Further details of the new venue:

Campus Site Map – LES

Photos of performance halls



Other Contest Info:


Rules: CH to 4th Sections  – 2017 (updated rule 6)

Rules: Unregistered (2017)

Info/Schedule (2017)
Warm up and Changing Facilities – There will be a separate band assembly for each of our performance halls. Secretaries will be notified following the draw which sections will compete in which hall.

Catering & Trade Stands – Catering will be available form 8am to 8pm in the Burton Hall (next to the Hodson Hall). Trade stands will also be available in the Burton Hall.
For enquiries or further information, please contact LBBA Secretary Lesley Bentley on


2016 Results: HERE


2016 Championship Section Winners 2016 – Derwent Brass
with Best Instrumentalist  – Richard Bates (Flugel)